Large thumb dsc 0008
Who We Are

The 2nd District, North Carolina GOP: supporting common-sense and conservative political values!


Primary Day June 7

The next North Carolina primary election will occur on June 7, 2016. This election will select Congressional candidates and North Carolina Supreme Court Judgeship candidates. Please Vote!


2nd District GOP ...

The North Carolina Second Republican District held its annual convention on April 9, 2016 at the Wicker Civic Center in Sanford, North Carolina. Joyce Cotten, Second District Chair, called the meeting to order and was joined by NC 12th District Senator Ron Rabin (Colonel, US Army-Ret) in welcoming the full house of one hundred seventy-three certified voting delegates along with their guests and candidates for state offices. The Rev. John Sauls, Senior Pastor of Crossroads Ministries of Broadway, NC provided the invocation. Colors were presented by the Lee County Sheriff’s Department Honor Guard. Ms. Alyssha Lilley sang the National Anthem.

John Rowerdink, Moore County GOP Chair, received the annual Richard Littiken Leadership Award for his service to the Republican Party in the 2nd District. This award is given annually to honor the memory of Richard Littiken, a true leader and tireless advocate for conservative causes. Rowerdink is Chair of the Moore County Republican Party and his efforts have increased the Republican presence across the District.

Several candidates for office gave short presentations to the convention. The convention heard from Chris Hardin seeking to represent the 6th NC Congressional District, Congresswoman Renee Ellmers running for re-election to the 2nd NC Congressional District, Dr. Greg Brannon, also seeking the 2nd District position, and Tim D’Annunzio campaigning for the 8th District Seat. Judgeship candidates included Hunter Murphy, Phil Berger, and Bob Hunter along with Valerie Zachary for the NC Court of Appeals, and Justice Robert Edmunds for the NC Supreme Court. For the NC Council of State, Mike Causey presented himself as a candidate for Insurance Commissioner as did Chuck Stuber for State Auditor and Michael LaPaglia for Secretary of State. Candidates present for the NC House were Ray Martin, District 11, and Wes Seawell, District 54. Mark Brody gave his qualifications for Republican National Committeeman. Surrogates were on hand for numerous other state-wide positions. For President, stand-ins were present for Ted Cruz and Donald Trump.

Jason Lemons served as Convention Chair during the official portion of the convention which focused on election of delegates supporting the Presidential election. Providing procedural rulings was 53d District Representative David Lewis. From a wide slate of twenty-three candidates, three delegates and three alternates were selected to represent the Second District at the National Republican Convention being held in Cleveland, Ohio during July 2016. Elected delegates are Linda Devore, Cumberland County; Jim Lexo, Moore County; and Mark Mahaffey, Lee County. Alternates are Don Ferrara, Harnett County; Ramona Rabin, also of Harnett County; and Hugh Rillie of Wake County.

The Electoral College is the institution that actually elects the President and Vice President of the United States based on the popular vote. For this important role, Charles Staley of Lee County was elected as the 2nd District GOP Electoral College elector.

Second District Chair Joyce Cotten invited delegates to attend the North Carolina Republican Convention to be held in Greensboro, May 6-8.


View All


View All
  1. Thumb rtxwkqi 1454024905 content consumption large